Area: Science

Name: Nancy Goodrum
Title: Chair, Science Department
Email: ngoodrum@fayacademy.org
Phone: 910-868-5131, ext. 3247
Areas:

Mrs. Goodrum holds a B.A. from Furman University.  Nancy oversees the science curriculum.  She has served the Academy for over 25 years and has been an educator since 1976.

Name: John Harbison
Title: 1st Grade Science Instructor
Email: jharbison@fayacademy.org
Phone: 910-868-5131, ext. 3405
Areas:

Mr. Harbison earned a B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from Arizona State University in 1969 and a M.S. in Human Resource Management and Personnel Administration from the University of Utah in 1977. Mr. Harbison has 10 years of teaching experience at the Fayetteville Academy (1997-2007) teaching Middle and Upper School science, math, and technology classes.  For the past three years, John has been a stalwart substitute teacher throughout the entire academy in all disciplines. Welcome back. 

Name: Dr. Alan Johnston
Title: Upper School Physics & Chemistry Instructor
Email: ajohnston@fayacademy.org
Phone: 910-868-5131, ext. 3244
Areas:

Dr. Johnston earned a Bachelor’s Degree in Physics and Math from Concordia College in his home state of Minnesota.  He then matriculated at the University of Nebraska where he earned both a Master’s and a Doctorate in Physics.  Alan joined the Academy in 2011 and now teaches all levels of physics – CP, Honors, and Advanced Placement.

Name: Hamid Kamara
Title: Middle School Science Instructor
Email: hkamara@fayacademy.org
Phone: 910-868-5131, ext. 3249
Areas:

Mr. Kamara holds a B.A. in Chemistry and a minor in Biology from the Fayetteville State University. He is currently completing his Masters of Education in Curriculum and Instruction with a minor in STEM from Concordia University. Previously, he taught middle grades science in Burlington, NC utilizing technology and project-based learning.

Name: Kristin Reeder
Title: Science Instructor
Email: kreeder@fayacademy.org
Phone: 910-868-5131, ext. 3404
Areas:

Mrs. Reeder holds a bachelor’s degree in Elementary Education from Campbell University and a master’s degree in Educational Leadership from Kansas State University. She has been teaching since 2008.

Name: Christine Sappington
Title: Upper School Science Instructor & Director of Odyssey Programs
Email: csappington@fayacademy.org
Phone: 910-868-5131, ext. 3241
Areas:

Mrs. Sappington holds a B.S. from Greensboro College and is EMT-B Certified.  She has served the Academy for since 2005 and has been an educator since 2001.

Name: Virginia Satisky
Title: Head of Middle School
Email: vsatisky@fayacademy.org
Phone: 910-868-5131 x. 3321
Areas:

Mrs. Satisky holds a B.S. from East Carolina University and an M.A. from Fayetteville State University. Virginia is the Head of the Middle School and teaches Science 6. She has served the Academy since 1975.

Name: Myrtle Summers
Title: Science Instructor
Email: msummers@fayacademy.org
Phone: 910-868-5131, ext. 3404
Areas:

Mrs. Summers holds a B.S. and M.A. from Fayetteville State University.  She teaches pre-kindergarten and kindergarten science.  Mrs. Summers has served the Academy since 2006 and an educator since 1975.